Marist Third Age Program 2017

The first set of photos below begins at Templestowe and moves to Hong Kong, St Petersburg and Moscow.

The next set includes London and Paris.

We now move on to Rome where our Marist Third Age Course commences.

On Sunday 15th October, 2017 we visit the Etruscan area north of Rome.

On Monday 16 October we begin Week 2 of our Renewal Course in Rome

On Monday 23 October, 2017 we begin Week 3 of our Third Age Course.

On Thursday 26 October, 2017 we fly to Lyons and then travel by bus to the Hermitage near St Chamond in southern France.

On Saturday 28 October, 2017 we travel to Le Rosey, the birthplace of Marcellin Champagnat.

On Sunday October 29, 2017 we travel to Les Maisonettes and La Valla.

On Monday 30th October, 2017, we visit Le Puy to see the great Marian Shrine.

On Tuesday 31st October 2017 we visit the Marist Missionary Sisters in Lyon and Fourviere

On Thursday 2nd November, 2017 we visit the Marist Sisters at Belley

On Friday 3rd November, we visit the Marist Fathers at La Neyiere near Lyon and the Marist Brothers at St Genis Laval.

On Sunday 5th November, 2017 we travelled to the ecumenical community at Taize where we joined in Sunday Mass with the 100 Brothers and several hundred visitors.

On Monday 6th November, 2017 we begin Week 5 of our Third Age Course in Rome.  A visit to San Clemente added to the week.

We began Week 6 of our Marist Third Age Course on Monday 13th November.  Our presenters were Ms Mary Rickard on Health and Wellbeing and Br Brendan Geary and Sr Catherine Darby on Sexuality and Intimacy

Week 6 continued with visits to the Basilicas of St John Lateran and St Mary Major and then talks about Marists in Kiribati and Melanesia

On Monday 20th November and Tuesday 21st November, 2017 Br Jose Ferre began Week 7 for us by giving us four excellent presentations on Mary. On Wednesday we met our new Superior General Br Ernesto Sanchez

We travel to Assisi on Thursday 23rd November, 2917 for three enjoyable days. We say at the Capuchin Hotel Domus Laetitiae

On Saturday 25th November 2017 we visited San Damiano's Sanctuary and then concluded our visit to Assisi with a lovely meal at a local restaurant near the Assisi station.

Week 8 begins  on Monday 27th November with with a visit by Sr Georgeanne Donovan, Superior General of the Marist Missionary Sisters. The next day, Brs Jeff Crowe and Chris Wills speak with us about the Lavalla 200 Project

On Thursday 30th November, 2017 Brs Alberto and Mark speak with us about Marist Mission and Ministry. Then in the afternoon we visit the Scarvi at the Vatican and head out for pizza at the Nurage restaurant nearby.  On Friday Br Colin Chalmers shows us something of the Institute archives. In the afternoon I head to the Gregorian University in Rome. We begin our retreat on Sunday 3rd December 2017.

On Monday 4th December, 2017 we continue our three day retreat with Fr David Glenday, a Comboni missionary priest residing in Rome.

On Thursday 7th December we head to Viterbo, a medieval Italian city north of Rome, for our final outing together.

On Friday 8th December, 2017 we thanked our leaders and all who have helped to make our Third Age Program so enjoyable and memorable.

Commencing my journey home via Venice and its beautiful waterways, vaporettos and churches

On Tuesday 12th November I travelled to Vienna enjoying its culture, churches and the Benedictine Melk Abbey over the next two days.